Skip to content

What Criteria Determine a Business’s Eligibility to Participate in Federal Procurement Through SAM?



To participate in federal procurement through the System for Award Management (SAM), a business must meet the following criteria:

  1. Legal Business Entity:
    • The business must be a legal entity registered with the appropriate state or local government authorities.
  2. DUNS Number:   (Now UEI#)
  3. NCAGE or CAGE Code:
    • U.S. businesses must have a Commercial and Government Entity (CAGE) code. Non-U.S. businesses must have a NATO Commercial and Government Entity (NCAGE) code.
  4. Active SAM Registration:
  5. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN):
    • The business must provide its taxpayer identification number (TIN) and, for U.S. businesses, the corresponding Employer Identification Number (EIN).
  6. Bank Account Information:
    • The business must provide its bank account information for Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) payments.
  7. Compliance with Federal Regulations:
    • The business must be in compliance with federal regulations and requirements, including those related to human rights, environmental protection, and labor laws.
  8. Not Suspended or Debarred:
    • The business must not be suspended or debarred from doing business with the federal government.

These are the basic criteria that determine a business’s eligibility to participate in federal procurement through SAM. However, there may be additional eligibility requirements for specific types of contracts or programs. It is recommended to thoroughly review the solicitation documents and program guidelines to ensure compliance with all requirements.


Need Help?

Contact the FPR Help Desk through the following methods:

  • Phone: 1-866-717-5267 (toll-free)
  • Email:

Ready to Renew Your SAM?

Take the First Step by Clicking Below:

Skip to content